What even is a Digital Writer in Residence?

I’m thrilled to announce that during the month of June 2014 I’ll be the inaugural Digital Writer in Residence for Writing Australia!

I’m the first in a series of six Digital Writers in Residence – one from each of the participating State/Territory Writers Centres (you’ll find links to them in the sidebar). This is a joint initiative of the SA Writers Centre and Writing Australia, so it’s fitting that it begins right here in SA.

What does it mean to be a digital writer in residence?

Personally, I see this month-long opportunity as half experimental/lab residency, and half outreach project. It means I’ll be tweeting from @digitalWIR for the month of June, participating in book/literary discussions, and offering insights and observations about my day of writing and reading. I’ll be blogging here at least twice a week with posts about craft, the digital writer’s life, freelancing for the internet, editing, and more;

It means I’ll be conducting two digital forums for writers, where I’ll be available over Google Hangout and Twitter for discussions with writers around Australia and the world with a focus on building community with regional South Australian writers (watch this space for details);

It means that after blogging for nearly ten years and tweeting for four, I’ll be taking some time to reflect on what living on the internet feels like, and whether it’s changed how I write and what I read and the way I think about storytelling;

It means I’ll be experimenting with digital formats for fiction, including Twitter and Storify, and sharing the results here for free;

And finally, it means I’ll be available and accessible for your questions about my work, this residency, or anything you want to know about the writing life. Writers’ centres are all about community. So get involved, leave a comment below, or drop me a mention on Twitter.

One thought on “What even is a Digital Writer in Residence?

Leave a Reply

